WillWriteForCookes Day 16 & NaNo Goals

Today’s cookies are a simple GF shortbread. They are extremely crumbly, a bit more so than my regular shortbread; however, they still taste amazing.
GF Shortbread

NaNoWriMo – It’s halfway through the month and I am nowhere near halfway finished with my novel. I was upset and really quite angry with myself for not having written 25,000 words. My best friend listened to me whinge on for a bit and then asked me what my resolutions were for the new year (being pagan, my year ends on Halloween/Samhain and starts on November 1). I pulled out my goal journal/planner and reread my goals for my writing.

1. Write for an hour a day. Word count doesn’t matter, just get (back) into the habit of writing every day
2. Work on one manuscript at time. Jot down ideas for new stories, but focus on one.

After rereading my goals, I remembered why I thought it was a good idea to actually join NaNoWriMo. I wanted the motivation to write every day and what better time than NaNoWriMo? My best friend’s question: “Was I completing my personal goals?” Yes, I am. I have been writing every day. Some days that hour drags by and only two or three paragraphs may be written; other days I’m surprised to learn the hour is over as the writing is flowing. I’ve been working on one manuscript. It’s in bits and pieces, scenes/chapters are completely out of order at the moment, but I don’t really care. It’s great to actually concentrate on one manuscript rather than bounce back and forth between three or twelve stories.

I will admit that the competitive, massively goal-orientated side of me really wants to write 50,000 words this month. The creative, practical side of me knows if I push myself any harder I’ll experience burnout. Instead, I write every day and tell myself there’s still time for me to meet the word goal, and if not, there’s always next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

